day of remembrance

Held every year on the last Saturday of April at the Special Operations building at Floyd Bennet Field.
Keeping out promise to ‘Never Forget’


Since 1896, 90 members of Special Operations, assigned to: The former Tactical Patrol Force, the former Street Crime Unit, the Aviation Unit, The Strategic Response Group, the Harbor Unit, the Mounted Unit and the Emergency Service Unit, sacrificed their lives in responding to 52 incidents of law enforcement’s unique and essential mission: The protection of all life and property.

Read the stories of their sacrifices as we continue our promise to ‘Never Forget”.

Check back often as this page is frequently updated as new information is received/discovered on their stories.



Listed alphabetically



listed by unit

tactical patrol force
street crime unit
stategic response group
aviation unit
borough task forces
Harbor unit
mounted unit
emergency service unit